Forgiveness

June 1, 2008

I was at a wedding the other day, and the vicar was giving his sermon and it struck a note, not only with the bride and groom I think, but me as well. He said ‘No matter what you do that annoys each other, you must forgive. Don’t make a list in your head of all the times they’ve done the same thing’.

Which is a good point, I think it’s a very good idea. But at what point does forgiving all the time become you just being a doormat, and spineless wimp, a ghost of who you used to be? If there’s giving and taking…if you forgive and the reciprocate actually does make an effort, and gives in other way, does that count? But what if you tell them it pisses you off and the effort is ok…but still not good enough and they slip back into old ways?

I want my Barry back, the one that was here just a few weeks ago. Yeah, sure, when he’s here now, there’s still snippets of his old self: he’s making an effort, he’s doing his work aroundme, so he can still see me. But the bad is dramatically outweighing the good. My mother says I should stick it out; I think I’m being a doormat. I’m giving it a couple more weeks, then I’ll know whether I’m a doormat or not.

9 Responses to “Forgiveness”

  1. Blacksilk Says:

    Oh poor lass, I hope it all works out well. Net-hugs for you, x

  2. Beau Says:

    Re doormat. i could be wrong but I think you already know, don’t you, Lace? For me a man who treats a woman as a doormat doesn’t deserve her, no matter what else he has to offer. Again this is just my view–others may have other views. But I’m adamant on the subject–I’ve seen too many relationships where she is fucked over too much and it rarely works out when she begins to realize it. Forgiveness is fine but if it continues then it goes beyond that. My tuppence.

    Beau in Seattle

  3. ladypandorah Says:

    Sounds like things are tough at present. Not nice to go through. Not at all. I echo Blacksilk’s thoughts and hope the sun shines for you soon.

    {Hug}


  4. […] 2, 2008 at 12:06 am (Uncategorized) So I said here that I was gonna wait a few weeks, see how it pans out.  I also said I felt like a doormat, and […]

  5. lacestockings Says:

    LadyP and BS: Thank you! Hopefully (read above) things will be better again.

    Beau: Thank you for your concern 🙂 (really! Not being sarcastic here). I do know what being a doormat is like in its worst form: the man before Barry was abusive emotionally, mentally and, eventually, physically. And I let him. I believed I ‘deserved’ it. Thing is here….I know I don’t deserve to be treated like he has been doing, and I’ve told him so. He seemed shocked to think that while he thought he was protecting me from his stresses, he was actually hurting me. I think I better re-phrase this blog: forgiveness AND communication!

  6. Beau Says:

    No woman ever deserves that, Lace. and no woman should ever be put into a situation
    where she thinks she deserves it. I know a woman like that,, just a friend you, but she echoes those same words: I caused it, I’m to blame. and the pity and sadness of is she won’t be talked out of it–it’s so ingrained. Good luck and take care–I’ve read you posts for some time and you post on others blogs so i know you are a lovely woman. All the best form
    Beau in Seattle

  7. lacestockings Says:

    Aww bless ya Beau!

    Yep, it’s hard to imagine that not too long ago I was like that. My advice to you for her is that she most likely won’t believe a word you say on the matter, or anyone else. You just need to be there for when she has an epiphany to pick up the pieces. Horrible job, and I imagine it’s horrible to see (my mother said it was the worst part of *her* life seeing me like that), but if you stick by her, hopefully she’ll see sense eventually. Hopefully sooner rather than later!

  8. Beau Says:

    Basically we’ve, her few male friends, have reiterated this over ad infinitum and she’s not ready, she won’t believe anyone, and it’s up to her now.
    We’ve tried, the gods know we’ve tried–finally after a year of it I said tata. It’s in your court Michelle.Nothing else I could do.Will try later and hope it does some good though–what else can one do but hope.
    Beau

  9. lacestockings Says:

    She’ll realise eventually. Unfortunetly, it may take something really bad to happen first :S


Leave a comment