Reviews galore: Part 2 – Durex

August 5, 2010

This second post is about the myriad of products that Durex have sent me over the last few months.

Deluxe

First up is from the new range of ‘Feeling’ condoms from Durex, called Deluxe.  They are described as ‘the Diamond standard in thinness’, which is meant to offer you and your partner extra added closeness and new sensations.

When Occam first opened the packet, we were both initially impressed by the superior packaging, and intrigued by the ‘micro fine’ condoms within.  We hoped these would be as mind blowing as Durex suggested.  Unfortunately, as soon Occam entered me I wasn’t immediately impressed: the condom felt very un-lubricated, which produced a slightly ‘wooden’ feeling.  Worried that we’d just come across a slightly dodgy condom, we tried another one, but this too produced the same feeling.  Again, I could feel the condom moving as Occam moved, and it was a sensation I didn’t really wish to feel.  And at £9.99 for just 5 condoms, I ‘feel’ that you should try other products in this range….

Real Feel

Apparently these condoms contain RealFeel material, giving a natural skin-on-skin feeling.  After using the Deluxe condoms, Occam and myself were a bit skeptical, but obviously open to trying new things 😉

I think the only way I can review these is to say simply that we loved them so much we’re making them our mainstay choice of condom.  They really do feel great, and do feel like there is no condom there, so it’s like making skin-on-skin contact – this is where the Deluxe condom failed.  They don’t need any extra lube, they are non-latex (crucial to know if you’re allergic) and while they give great pleasure they also don’t feel so thin that they might break at any moment.  Always an added bonus.

This pack contains ten condoms, and costs £9.95 for the pack, which is much better value than the Deluxe condoms straightaway.  Add the fact that these are, by far, the best condoms either myself or Occam have ever used, and you can go ahead and add that they are also spankingly awesome too.

Play Sweet Strawberry

I’m very picky about lubes.  I find that any of these special edition flavours tend to irritate me…..down there.  Not pleasant, and it definitely takes the fun out of what’s meant to be a very pleasurable experience.  Don’t get me wrong – flavoured lubes come to the rescue if you hate the taste of condoms when giving your man a blow job (although I do prefer sans condom).  But I find it difficult to not have some sort of irritation with any lube apart from KY Jelly.

Anywho, just recently I’ve had a few problems (I won’t go into it and put a downer on things) which have meant that I’ve required the use of lube to just have even the most vanilla of sex.  Role up Durex Play Sweet Strawberry.  Let’s see what you’ve got.

I was instantly impressed by the fact it was strawberry – why wasn’t this done sooner?  Why go for the exotic (and perhaps run the risk of a lot of people being put off by) flavours, such as Pina Colada?  Strawberry is loved by practically everyone, and especially during Wimbledon (which was when this lube was launched).

We’ve only tried this once, and I think it’s definitely my favourite of the Play range of lubes.  Occam may take more convincing, purely because he’s one of the few people who don’t like strawberries.

Anyway, this lube does exactly what it says on the tin.  It’s a good lubricant, it didn’t cause me any irritation, both during sex and anal.  It tastes alright…..but I’d personally rather use it purely as a means of lubricant during anal, rather than as a supplement to my giving a blow job.

Play Massage Melts

Last, but not least, we have the 2 in 1 massage melts, so called because they can act as massage oil and lubricant.  There are six pods to each pack, and for £6.99 I think this is a reasonable price to pay if you want something different to your conventional lube.  For this product is not your standard lube!  These nifty little pods can be put in the freezer and left till they are like ice cubes.  Then you can pop one out and enjoy the lovely tingly sensation!

Occam and myself took this a little further: I was very intrigued about how these would feel in more intimate places.  So one night we tried sticking one of the frozen cubes in my ass.  This tingled a lot, and not in a good way.  But as it melted it provided a good lubricant, which meant easier anal sex 😉 Another night Occam put a frozen cube up my pussy.  That felt delicious.  And the sex afterwards was amazing (we also used the ‘Real Feel’ condoms, as mentioned above, so it was doubly awesome!).

Should you buy these?  Yes!

One Response to “Reviews galore: Part 2 – Durex”

  1. Jake Holden Says:

    I think the real feel condoms may be made out of polyisoprene, a newish material for condoms. Lifestyles (or Mates as they’re known here in the UK) have their own version called Skyn condoms, I’ve used them and they’re great too.


Leave a Reply

